The Northshore Fire Department is governed by an elected body of five members who are charged with the responsibility of overseeing the business and affairs of the Fire District. The Fire Commissioners serve a term of six years. Regular Board meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month at the Headquarters Fire Station in Kenmore.

View Board Policies

Rick Verlinda, Member

Commissioner Position No. 1

Term 2018 – 2023

Rick Verlinda was elected into office in 2017.

Rick has extensive knowledge and experience with the Fire Service. He served 30 years with the Seattle Fire Department, 14 years as a Battalion Chief and Safety Chief. He was a primary member on numerous national committees such as the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 1400 Committee. He served as Union President and Executive Board member for over 10 years.

Rick brings his extensive knowledge of Fire Department operations and his understanding of Management / Union roles and responsibilities to the Board of Commissioners.

Professionally, he is still active in the Fire Service working as a Consultant for the Seattle Fire Department promotional process for the last 18 years. He also works with local Fire Departments on writing their required written Safety Policies.

A Kenmore resident for 17 years, he is known for his “Halloween House” in Northshore Summit where Halloween brings more than 1,000 people each year. Rick spends most of the year creating exciting and scary props for the Halloween holiday.

Rick looks forward to serving the Northshore Fire District and hopes to actively work with both the surrounding Fire Districts and other King County Fire Commissioners.

Josh Pratt, Vice Chairperson

Commissioner Position No. 2

Term 2019 – 2025

Josh Pratt is a 20 year resident of Kenmore, where he and his wife are raising their three children. He has been a public servant for over 20 years, as a current City of Kirkland firefighter and eight years as a Northshore School District teacher at Inglemoor High School.

As a firefighter he is uniquely situated to recognize the needs of a growing department in transition, and to help steward the Northshore Fire Department during this period of growth. As a Commissioner, he looks forward to continuing the excellent level of service you have come to expect from dedicated, professional personnel while expanding the services offered thereby improving the safety of our community.

Don Ellis, Member

Commissioner Position No. 3

Term 2016 – 2021

A Kenmore resident for 50 years, Don Ellis originally joined the Northshore Fire Department Board of Commissioners in 1988 and served through 2011. He returned to the Board in January of 2016, when he was re-elected to a six-year term that runs through 2021.

Commissioner Ellis holds a Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Washington and has extensive experience in the financial services industry.

In addition to his long service with the Fire District, Don has also served on the Northshore Utility District’s Board of Commissioners for over 40 years. Between these two Boards, Commissioner Ellis has been very active serving on numerous local and regional committees.

Commissioner Ellis was instrumental in moving the fire department from what was a combination volunteer/professional department to a fully paid and staffed professional organization. He also contributed a great deal to the effort to construct the Fire District’s Lake Forest Park fire station. Commissioner Ellis also spearheaded a mutually beneficial interlocal agreement between the Utility and Fire Districts that provides for the servicing of fire department apparatus and vehicles by Utility District mechanics.

Rick Webster, Chairperson

Commissioner Position No. 4

Term 2019 – 2025

Commissioner Webster and his family have been Kenmore residents for over 34 years. He retired after 45 years of commercial construction in the Puget Sound area. He also served on the apprenticeship board for the Carpenters Union and in the Mentors Program in the Steel Stud and Drywall industry.

Rick served as a volunteer coach in Girls Slow-pitch Softball for 14 years and was a coach for two boys basketball teams for the last 7 years. He has participated in a number of volunteer housing projects over the years and continues to do so. He strongly believes in giving back to our community.

Mr. Webster has Bachelor’s in Construction Management at the University of Washington.

Rick’s background in the building industry has given him extensive training in human relations and innovative problem-solving skills while keeping an eye on the bottom line. He looks forward to using his years of experience working to promote fiscal responsibility while looking to enhance the level of service in our District.

David Maehren, Member

Commissioner Position No. 5

Term 2016 – 2021

Commissioner David Maehren has served on the Northshore Fire Department Board of Fire Commissioners since 2001. David believes that a professional, dedicated and well-resourced fire department is critical to the wellbeing of the community. He is dedicated to supporting the needs of fire service while maintaining governance transparency and financial accountability.

Mr. Maehren has been actively involved in the Kenmore community. He was the recipient of the 2009 Kenmore Heritage Society’s McMasters Award for community service and the Kirkland – Redmond Boys & Girls Club 1999 board member of the year.

Mr. Maehren’s community service includes; President, The Arts of Kenmore (2012 – 2016) and member of the Northlake Regional Fire Authority Planning Committee. Past Member: Northshore Rotary, City of Kenmore Downtown Plan Commission, Chair of the Kenmore’s first Comprehensive Planning Commission, Co-chair of the Kenmore Incorporation Committee resulting in the formation of the new City of Kenmore.

Mr. Maehren retired after 30 years of service with the King County Sheriff’s office. He served as President of Enalliance Inc. from 2002-2009, delivering public safety training, project management and subject matter expert services.